Review: Girl on Trial by Kathleen Fine

Description:

Does doing one bad thing make you a bad person?

Sixteen-year-old Emily Keller, known by the media as Keller the Killer, is accused of causing the deaths of four family members, including young children. Emily is one of the youngest females to be accused of a crime so heinous, making this the nation’s biggest trial of the year. But what really happened that fateful night―and who’s responsible―is anything but straightforward.

Living in a trailer park in Baltimore with her twin brother and alcoholic mother, Emily’s life hasn’t been easy. She’s had to grow up fast, and like any teen, has made questionable decisions in a desperate attempt to fit in with her peers. Will her mistakes amount to a guilty verdict and a life in prison? It’s up to the jury to decide.

My opinion:

ARC Review

Girl on Trial by Kathleen Fine is a young adult drama.

I’m not a big fan of the drama genre but I can recognize a good book. This one has an incredible story that will touch a lot of people. It’s about a girl who wanted to fit in with the crowd, messed with the wrong person, and regretted it. It’s a story that can teach a lot of lessons not only to young people but older too.

The writing style is impeccable. It started with a present moment and then it alternated between the trial and the past. It usually bothers me when there are too many flashbacks but in this book, it was rather helpful. Even though the story is focused on teens the dialogues aren’t childish at all. The mystery was a big plus for me and the revelation in the end was a huge surprise. My favorite part was when Emily realized her mistake.

I highly recommend this book to everyone. I will rate it with 5 stars.

Goodreads Amazon Bookbub Support

My WL: https://www.amazon.de/hz/wishlist/ls/66C86LLS4FRD/ref=nav_wishlist_lists_1
Book WL: https://www.amazon.de/hz/wishlist/ls/3M16Y77PR79W5/ref=nav_wishlist_lists_2
My social: https://linkr.bio/nanasbookreviews

Σχολιάστε