Review: Gilded Princess by Penelope Black

Description:

When I was little, I was obsessed with fairytales. My dad told me the stories of the stars and white knights who rescue princesses. I’d wear a silver plastic crown and stare at the sky, waiting for the day my knight in shining armor would come.

Then my dad died, my crown broke, and my mom shipped my sister and me off to boarding school.

And then I met them.
My knights.
Only they’re nothing like the fairytales I grew up on. They’re wrapped in sin and shrouded in darkness. Bossy, protective, alphaholes.

And heirs to the Italian mafia.

My opinion:

Gilded Princess by Penelope Black is a reverse harem romance. It’s the first book from the Five Families series.

This story is about Maddie and her male harem. Throughout the book, she connected with her ex-boyfriend Matteo and met three more guys. Since her cousin was in a poly relationship she thought she could give it a try as well. Of course, she soon understood that it wasn’t as easy as she thought.

This series is connected with the Brotherhood series and there are a lot of crossovers which confused me a bit because I haven’t read that. So even though it can be read as a standalone I suggest you read The Brotherhood before this one. Back to the plot: it’s filled with suspense, heated meetings, and kidnappings. It has a good flow and a lot of surprises towards the end. Maddie was a combination of spitfire and mother hen. The guys were all mafia but had a lot of differences. One common things was that they were overprotective and crazy about her. My favorite moment was the end.

Gilded Princess is a book that has a lot of action and that it won’t bore you at all. I will rate it with 4 stars.

Goodreads Amazon Bookbub My Shop My Reviews

Σχολιάστε